DT #326, 22 November 2014 (Brewers’ Blizzard)   12 comments

Brewers' Blizzrd Bear Melksham

DT #326, 22 November 2014 (Brewers’ Blizzard)

Back to the running
With 8.8 miles, three pubs,
And a great chippy.

Name: Brewers’ Blizzard
Type: bitter

2014-11-22 run route
Venue: The Bear, Melksham

Review/notes: It’s the Saturday before American Thanksgiving (the only holiday I really like) which kicks off the Holiday Season for us.  Drinking and eating too much must be tempered by a bit of strenuous activity, so I am pledging to run at least 3 miles until the Saturday after New Years.  Today, I got up early with Jackie (who had to work) and caught the bus to Semington whence I ran to Melksham (my first visit) then looping back to Seend.  I finished at the Bell having just left the Brewery Inn in Seend Cleve and a wonderful chippy in Bowerhill.  Mud was everywhere.

In Melksham, I arrived too early for the chippies and other pubs, so I hit the Bear, a Wetherspoons so I knew it would be open, serving at the bar, and cheap.  The Brewers’ Blizzard was awesome–floral, alternately sweet and bitter, and with a varnish-y finish. Definitely could have chosen worse,

Brewers' Blizzrd pump Bear Melksham

[DT =Daily Tipple, explained in DT #000 here]

Monthly consolidations/compilations: January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.