The Wheatsheaf, Old Town, Swindon   5 comments

Next to the Royal Oak you’ll find the Wheatsheaf, a large old pub with a couple of oaken bars and a sort of serpentine layout.  Out of the corner of my eye I spotted a little white dog in the window trying to peek out around the curtains and realised, RESULT!, the place was open (they have late doors).  I went in and was amused to find that the little white dog was actually the shock of hair on the head of some old dude chatting up some even older lady.

I had a choice of 5 ales according to the board but only one pump clip faced me so I had 6X (it is a Wadworth pub).  I think the other beers might be on gravity feed.  The landlady was young and attentive but professional and not at all invasive of your space.  I had a look around and felt very comfortable in these old rooms.  There were a few others enjoying the early evening and the unobtrusive light background music.  Quite a pleasant experience.

Posted 2011/10/07 by Drunken Bunny in pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.