Moredon Charcoal Grill, Swindon (kpw* for Week 41)   3 comments

[*kpw = kebab per week for 2013, as noted in an earlier post and the 45th entry for the 2013 Challenge]

moredon charcoal grill swindon kebab

This is a tasty kebab from Moredon Charcoal Grill but first let me tell you of the path to it.  Back in the early days of the Burger Challenge (or, with my waiver, the Kebab Challenge), I scouted some kebab places using Google Maps and found a doozy on Wingate Parade off Northern Road in Swindon, Shapla at the time of the photo but subsequently the Masala Express.  The food might have turned out to be dreadful, but with eye candy like this hanging around on the street I felt I must go:

shirtless at shapla

Google Maps has since driven their Street View Vehicle back down Wingate Parade for an updated view but the neighbourhood seems just as charming (it appears that the Mayor of Swindon recently made a warmly received comment about these folks, as reported in several regional newspapers):

masala express new google streetview

After work and on my way to the G-Had Hash House Harriers site, I zipped in for a lamb donner (as it is spelled in their on-line menu).  “We don’t do lamb donner,” I was brusquely informed.  So, I continued on…

masala express menu no lamb donner

…looking for signs of the trail I knew would be prelaid somewhere nearby and, therefore, making a loop into the Moredon neighbourhood.  Good choice, too, as the meat, while gristly and salty, was flavourful and the homemade chilli sauce was excellent.  The veg, as tends to be the case, was fresh and better than you can probably find in your grocer’s.  I polished this small portion off and returned to the trail hunt finally sated.

moredon charcoal grill swindon

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.