The Frying Fish, Swindon, Chippy Challenge #17   Leave a comment

frying fish swindon cod[The Chippy Challenge: to eat more fish and chips in 2014; see original post for details.]

Fish: cod
Sides: none
Evaluation: The queues can be enormous, which is usually a good endorsement, so I have had The Frying Fish shortlisted for this project since its inception.  Believe the queue…always believe the queue: perfection in fish.  They also have the menu on a board so you can get whatever treat they have on hand at whatever reasonable price they set…and the portions are grand.

frying fish swindon specials

Today is turning out to me my most British day, yet.  I had pickled eggs for breakfast before acing my Life in the UK test (sort of the citizenship exam, here).  On my way into work I stopped for fish and chips at Westway (link below).  After politely sitting through a number of lectures, I grabbed a pint and hit the public transport home then grabbed another piece of fish only to find a goulash of local game (pheasants, hare, and venison) awaiting with, of course, French wine — none of that British plonk for me.  Crikey.

Days since last: 0, (Westway Chippy, Botley)
Map link.

frying fish swindon

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.