The Cwellyn Arms, Rhyd Ddu, Caernarfon   2 comments

Cwellyn Arms rhyd dduThe Cwellyn Arms had some rude pub reviews and had I not been so desparate for another pub stop at 16 miles into the Snowdonia Marathon I would have passed it on.  But, I thought, what the hell I’m only having one and if they gouge me on the price then I still have another pub visit down.  I’m really glad I opted for the stop, though, as this was a very friendly, warm, and charming little pub packed with both diners and folks taking a break from watching the marathoners pass by in the rain (which was starting back up).

I had a Thieving Whippet from Cottage Brewing Company, which was pleasant enough, and tried to chat with the Polish bartender but her ear was barely tuned to the Welsh accent and she couldn’t make heads-nor-tails of mine.  A family nearby did talk a bit about the town and how they come out for the race because so many neighbours are in it and it brings a good class of folks to the area that might not otherwise have visited.  I wiped off my glasses and my face with the bar towel the keeper brought out, handed her the glass and said my thanks and loped off into the stream of fools.

Cwellyn Arms rhyd ddu beer

2 responses to “The Cwellyn Arms, Rhyd Ddu, Caernarfon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very poor service – took an hour and a half to get 3 sandwiches and a bowl of chips . No apology for the service and manager seemed to sit and drink tea whilst customers starved! Not good at all.

  2. Pingback: Snowdonia Marathon 24 October 2009 « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.