Saracens Head, Beddgelert, Caernarfon   3 comments

Saracens Head beddgelertThe Saracen’s Head was the first pub that was both open and directly on the Snowdonia Marathon route.  I knew it was coming up just after 12 miles and so while the other runners all veered left toward the water table set up by the race volunteers, I moved to the right and dashed off the course and into the welcoming arms of the pub.

The assembled drinkers (the place was packed at noon:30) had a nice chuckle and one of them asked if I was dropping out.  “Nope, just fancied a pint,” I said as I pulled out my beer money.  “I’ll have that one, please,” I pointed to a Robinson’s something or other (my glasses were coated with rain and sweat and were fogging up pretty badly).  I stood and chatted with the friendly bunch and tipped them off to look for the CNN coverage of the 30 Pack Marathon if they thought this was odd.  “Am I the first marathoner in today?” I asked, earnestly.  “Ever,” came the reply from both bartenders and the owner who had just returned with a camera.

I cleaned up the spectacles and finished my beer while making fun of the fools we saw running by in the rain.  Then, making my excuses and bidding fare well, I left to rejoin them.
Saracens Head beddgelert Snowdon Marathon 12.5 miles

3 responses to “Saracens Head, Beddgelert, Caernarfon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well this guy was fab,running and enjoying the beer on offer, hope to see him next year..by the way we also offer tea and coffee in the coffee lounge this is an ideal place to stop and watch the race…

  2. FAB GUY

  3. Pingback: Snowdonia Marathon 24 October 2009 « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.