Removing Racism from (and De-Hashing) the Wardrobe: February 2013 Progress   Leave a comment

The t-shirt retirements continue, with the race shirts joining the exodus started by the hashing shirts…the up-to-date map of the hashing shirt gravesites is here.

8 February: The run was Calne to Chippenham, the shirt visited 3 pubs (it should have felt comfortable with that), and got dumped ignominiously behind the loo…at least it was face-up, unlike its former wearer (well, it has happened).

gispert birthday 2010 hash shirt

13 February: Although neither a race shirt nor a hashing shirt, my Southern Arizona Road Runners shirt qualifies as both.  A large organisation, I went entirely unnoticed my first year as a member despite taking 3rd in the Grand Prix for my age group; I re-joined under my hashing name and Slow Ride (Slow being short for Winslow) took 1st in the Grand Prix.  Dry-rotting off my body, I left this one on the banks of the flooded Cherwell at the Mesopotamia Causeway in Oxford:

SAzRR shirt in Mesopotamia floods

14 February: The Brakspear shirt is nearly new and I only wear it as an undergarment due to it being a smallish medium and fairly inelastic.  I’m counting it amongst the Racing shirts, though, because it was ‘won’ by completing the Brakspear ale trail of 10 pints in ten places on a map they provided…two days (hmmm, so it sort of qualifies as a hashing shirt, too).  On an old chair in the alleyway archipelago.

brakspear

17 February: This would have to rate as another double-dipper (both a race shirt and honourary hashing shirt)–I ran the Snowdonia Marathon, hilly and shiggy rich and muddy and rainy and cold, whilst stopping at every open pub on the route for a pint (write up here includes links to pub reviews along the way).  Left on a traffic sign at a bridge on the rail trail path during part of the Every Trail in Old Town project, the elastic was completely shot in it and it hung more like a rag than a garment–just the way I like but leaving it to fend for itself in the wilds will attenuate the tutting from the woman:

Snowdonia Marathon shirt RIP on rail trail

19 February: As this project continues I am seeing that many of the race shirts also technically qualify as hashing shirts.  Yet another was drawn from the big drawer of tees this morning–the Swindon Half Marathon which included, for me, an extra mile as I detoured off course for one pub before hitting another on the course–and as I was running part of the Every Trail In Old Town project in the afternoon it got ‘retired’ on a Christmas tree dumped near the Devizes Road bridge on the rail trail:

swindon half marathon 2011 shirt on old town rail trail

Now, here’s a legitimate hashing shirt and completely personalized: the Full Moon Monsoon 69th Anal-versary Hash-A-Thong was the brainchild of Company Cock at the Huachuca HHH (Sierra Vista, AZ).  Thirteen hashes in twelve days was the ultimate goal but living 70 miles away from the sponsoring hash put me at a slight disadvantage.  For example, although I got absolutely shitfaced at the 28 July  Huachuca HHH before haring that afternoon’s jHavelina HHH in Tucson, regular readers of this blog will recognize that this is not typical of my running and drinking behaviour.  The shirt was customized to reflect my substitute trails and I was pretty happy to have hit 11 in that time.

FMMHAT shirt front FMMHAT shirt back

 

I was in Eynsham to visit Siemens the day an Oxford HHH trail was scheduled from the White Hart, so I did a course around the perimeter of twon and found a tree to thread it onto.  Hope someone finds it:

FMMHAT map  FMMHAT shirt final resting place

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.