The Horse and Jockey, Ashton Keynes, Gloucestershire (out of business)   1 comment

My legs were nackered and I was developing a blister on my big toe where a callous on the next toe was rubbing it.  I felt in dire need of lubrication and was glad to spot the Horse and Jockey down a side road in Ashton Keynes.  Relief soon became dismay as I realised the pub was closed, possibly for good.

The old woman I had startled a few steps earlier caught up and suggested another pub down the road but I already knew it was closed after lunchtime (which was why I was bypassing the village in the first place).  She did agree to fire off the obligatory Carling shot (good for the 100/100 Challenge and allowing me to salute this fine, fallen soldier in the way prescribed here).  While we spoke, she too lamented the passing of this pub saying that a rapid succession of tenants had failed to make a go of things; sadly, there is now only the White Hart with its short hours supporting the village which only recently claimed three quite healthy pubs.

One response to “The Horse and Jockey, Ashton Keynes, Gloucestershire (out of business)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The Vale Hotel, Cricklade, Wiltshire « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.