The Baker’s Arms, Somerford Keynes, Gloucestershire   1 comment

From the Wild Duck, the Thames Path was indistinguishable from how it appears closer to Oxford except that wading across would take all of one step and you might get your ankle wet (rather than being compelled to swim a few yards, map here: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=5379808).  Veering into the village of Somerford Keynes, I was able to take another short and poorly deserved break at the Baker’s Arms.

I had the landlady pull me a pint of Stroud Brewery’s “Budding,” which was rich in hops and floral as all outdoors in spring.  A bit fragrant myself, I excused myself to the garden where, save one family out of shot I had the quiet country village to myself.

The next stop was about 30 minutes away so I decided not to tarry.  Returning to the Thames Path, I trudged on quite full of ales.

One response to “The Baker’s Arms, Somerford Keynes, Gloucestershire

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The Vale Hotel, Cricklade, Wiltshire « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.