The White Horse, Waterbeach   Leave a comment

white-horse-sign

Pub #60:

The White Horse is a pretty big pub in Waterbeach, just off the green and not too far from the rail station.  I got there for a Cambridge Hash House Harriers event by biking the 7 miles from my house.  I rode through the crowd of hashers and round back of the pub to lock up and was met by the landlady who was having a smoke in the garden.  She urged me to leave the bike within the gates and I pushed past her spaniel to do so.  The dog came along on the run with one of the hashers, so it was good to get to know him first.

Opted not to have a beer before the run (the pub probably wasn’t even open yet), but afterward having hung out with some other finishers in the parking lot in front of the bar for awhile I joined the queue. Whilst in the lot, I had spoken with this guy about a Nissan Micra he had parked out front with a For Sale sign advertising it for £350; this turned out to be one of the bartenders and he took my order ahead of the rabble which pleased me as much as it upset them.  I had the first of several Gem Ales from the Bath Brewery (I had some of this a few weeks ago at, I think, the Prince Albert in Ely and really liked it).

The pub has a snooker table in a lower bar down by the Gents, and two other bars next to one another at garden level.  The garden is huge (maybe a half acre) and easily accommodated the large circle of hashers that eventually formed out there.  While waiting for the circle ceremony to start, I noted several really delicious looking plates of Sunday roasts and vegetables going out to some of the other customers; they also have a large menu of Thai food.

The staff is really friendly, here, the location is convenient, and the taps are plentiful and properly attended…what more could you ask?

white-horse-pub

Posted 2009/04/20 by Drunken Bunny in food, pubs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.