The Nelson, Cowley, Oxfordshire   1 comment

Rough and ready would seem to describe the Nelson, but it reminded me of bars I grew up in and around so they get points for nostalgia if nought else.  They had IPA on tap (Greene King) but I ran quite a few hills up and down on the way over and even with the light rain and cool temperatures felt in a lager mood, so Fosters it was to be.

The customers in the house seemed a bit older and a bit less polished than you find around Oxford’s city centre and I really welcomed the change.  The area I sat looks kitted out for karaoke, bands, or a dance floor and the house makes up for lack of style with space and comfort (the ugly couches in the front corner look especially comfortable.  I definitely want to try this out on an evening sometime; an early evening, but an evening.

One response to “The Nelson, Cowley, Oxfordshire

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The Jolly Postboys, Cowley, Oxfordshire « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.