The Rose and Crown, Trowbridge, Wiltshire   Leave a comment

Rose and Crown Trowbridge

Dry, warm clothing donned at the Stallards after the rainy run were a special joy but now the rain had stopped and I could look around on my walk back into town.  On my right, I spotted the Rose and Crown which I had web-reconned and decided it looked too foodie for a stop (maybe it was the sign, maybe a review); but, the bar was crowded with fat, middle-aged blokes so I felt I could slide in unnoticed.

Turns out, they had a nice selection of ales on although it does appear to have a dining crowd in mind (with locally sourced produce featured but also largely traditional plates available).  I went to the Spartan dining room next to the bar so I could sit by a window and watched a fellow demolish first a platter of burger and chips then a really large berry mess: five minutes flat and the bartender had to go get the dessert.

The longer I stayed the more it felt like a proper pub although the location is a bit unfortunate.  However, almost right across the road you’ll find the rail station, so if you’re passing through and fancy a quick pint you could do a lot worse.

Rose and Crown Trowbridge old photo

 

Posted 2015/01/04 by Drunken Bunny in pubs, Run Across Britain

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

