Off the Rails, Yarmouth, Isle of Wight   2 comments

Off the Rails Yarmouth 3

At the Horse and Groom, a couple at the bar suggested that I might hit the Off The Rails but I just thought they were insane (for loads of reasons, and fair enough they had loads of reasons to reciprocate). But, down the old rail path near Yarmouth and along the marathon route there it was: an old station converted to a restaurant or, at least, a snack bar.

“Is this place licensed?” I yelled up to some diners on the platform who laughed riotously (as did the race marshalls at the end of the platform). then, to drown out their laughter, I repeated, “no, really, do they serve adult beverages?” and one guy at a table near the entrance said yes. I hopped up on the platform and came in to find the staff unable to comprehend my request for beer until I pointed at the cooler full of lager and said, slowly, “Staropraman.” “You really want a beer, mate?” “Oh, yes please. That would be lovely.”

They were awful nice after that, as I went out, draped my legs off the platform and started to boo runners I had chatted to before and calling others “freaks” and “losers” before returning my bottle and heading out to overtake them, again.

Off the Rails Yarmouth 1

2 responses to “Off the Rails, Yarmouth, Isle of Wight

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 2014 Isle of Wight Marathon | The endless British pub crawl

  2. Pingback: End of the Swindon Era | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

