DT #206, 25 July 2014 (Cross Bay Nightfall)   Leave a comment

Cross Bay Nightfall Vine Cumnor

 

Jello says, “Drinking beer
In the hot sun. I fought the
Law and, uh, I won.”

Name: Cross Bay Nightfall
Type: bitter
Venue: The Vine Inn, Cumnor

Review/notes: I’m off work for a few days and with the long shifts this week decided to start early.  On the bus at 12:45, I was off it in Besselsleigh for a short run on one of those rare 80°F (26°C) sunny days.  I knew it was going to be a short run with a beer break at the turnaround (The Vine) but as I was famished (another 6 am start today) I thought I might also try to weasel a late lunch out of their probably closed kitchen.

The place seemed dead except for one chatty punter at the bar and a family out in the garden.  I had never seen Cross Bay before and gave it a try finding it refrigerator cool and quite bitter…it might have done well to warm closer to normal room temperature but as I drank the first few sips my skin erupted with sweat and I was happy for the cold glass.  The old guy seemed bemused by the running and was probably even more so when I strapped the back pack on again as soon as the meal was demolished, threw back the last of the beer, and left the door already at pace…with the Dead Kennedys blaring.

Cross Bay Nightfall Vine Cumnor pump

[DT =Daily Tipple, explained in DT #000 here]

Monthly consolidations/compilations: January
February
March
April
May
June

Leave a Reply

