The Grapes, Bath, Somerset   Leave a comment

grapes bath

Jackie had an appointment for work in Bath and when it was done we went to the Grapes for a drink and to give her a chance to change clothes.  The bartender picked up the accents and assumed the worst (tourists) and condescended, “are we puzzled by the ales?”

“No, I’d like a cider,” I said, pointing at the Old Rosie.

“We have four ciders,” he chimed in.  “This one is cloudy and quite strong,” he warned, ominously.

“I’m familiar with it…” I started.

“Oh, then pint or half?” he interrupted.

“Slow down, chief.  You have four, so what are the others?”  Turns out he only had Blackthorn, Strongbow, and Thatchers otherwise.

“Which Thatchers?” I asked, catching him off-guard.  I didn’t want it…I just wanted to set things right.

Nice pub, otherwise.

 

grapes bath bar

Posted 2014/05/08 by Drunken Bunny in pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

