Top of the World, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire   Leave a comment

top of the world hemel hempstead sign

The TOTW might also be called the Toast Of The Worker from the crowd I spotted…everyone had an air of hard work and harder drinking and I felt at home despite the architecture reminiscent of an IHOP or Denny’s or any other large generic American diner. The beer was cheap so I really had nothing to complain about.

I found the place by accident. I had an Ordnance Survey map but no torch nor compass and in the dark and light rain the map was as useless as my bad eyesight. A long climb from the Old Town put me on this ridge and the pub was right in front of me. By my estimate I felt I should be a quarter mile farther to the west and not on a hill as my target was by the river. So, on leaving the Top I worked my way downhill, still running blind but a bit more refreshed.

top of the world hemel hempstead

Posted 2013/11/07 by Drunken Bunny in pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

