The Post Office Arms, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire   Leave a comment

post office arms hemel hempstead sign

One of the things I find disheartening about Hemel is how hard it is to find a proper neighbourhood bar, but the Post Office really fits the bill. Heaving at about 7 pm with clever but definitely local folk (albeit welcoming in a non-committal way to a stranger covered in sweat and rain mist) I found it one of the more pleasant experiences of the trip.

post office arms hemel hempstead library

I ordered a George Gale HSB and was quoted 3.55 but the keeper soon returned with 40 p in hand saying I still owed him 15…shit, I was pretty sure of what I had. “Just give me that back,” I said waving a 20 pound note at him. Momentarily he returned with 5 p; “your coin was down in the pound drawer, sorry.”

post office arms hemel hempstead cask

I had lively conversations with absolutely potty folk (two old guys trying to decide if they like or don’t like Russell Brand, some other guys who were happy about the Rebekah Brooks disclosures this week, especially after I reminded them of her battery of Ross Kemp…absolutely delightful experience here).

post office arms hemel hempstead

Posted 2013/11/07 by Drunken Bunny in pubs

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

