Cooper’s Arms, Pewsey, Wiltshire   2 comments

coopers arms pewsey sign

“You must be visiting every pub in Britain!”
Laughing, I replied, “yeah, that would be something to try.”

It may have been paranoia on my part — I’m always suspicious when a pub conversation indicates familiarity with this ridiculous document — but, this was the first thing out of the guy’s mouth while I was still outside having just finished taking the sign and structure photos.

 

coopers arms pewsey beer

Inside, I at first took my Barbus barbus (that’s a carp, ironically) to the pool room and watched some F1 coverage but I was the only punter there (the guys out front were the owner and a buddy, I think) so I drifted around the spare but inviting rooms and eventually landed back at the bar.

 

coopers arms pewsey drinking

Tim the tender, roughly my age or maybe a few years older, is a Canadian that has been in England since he was 14 and has a great mixture of retained far-west Canadian inflection layered over a bit of the West Country twang that has creeped in. We talked of the Pewsey Carnival, pubs in Marlborough, and the sporadic bus schedule that allowed me time for this beer break. I told him about the half marathon that just ended and that he might get some traffic from that.

“Did you compete in that?”
“Participated. At my level, only dickheads ‘compete.'”

Finished with the lovely beverage, I thanked my host. “So, time for the bus, then?”
“Not yet…I’m just gonna trundle over to the Wharf for another beer.”
“Oh, say hi to Grahame for me. He’s a foul tempered cuss.”
“No, I’m hitting the Horn, instead. And, Grahame opens early; he’s the best.”
“Yes, tell him Tim sends his regards if you see him.” Maybe next time.

coopers arms pewsey

2 responses to “Cooper’s Arms, Pewsey, Wiltshire

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The French Horn, Pewsey Wharf, Wiltshire | The endless British pub crawl

  2. Pingback: End of the Swindon Era | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

