Miller’s Bar, King’s Cross, London   1 comment

On a one day consultancy callout to my old job at Cambridge I took two days to arrive early, relaxed, and to get a nice run and a few new pubs under my belt beforehand.  I had some issues with a new computer for the wife which put my escape from Swindon back a couple of hours later than optimal so I didn’t stray too far from the rail station in London (although I had some gems picked out).  Still, Miller’s Bar just around the corner from King’s Cross Station was pretty good if for no other reason than the Young’s Best on as a guest only set me back 2.70 in Central London.

A single room bar, it has the air of a local boozer in a much smaller city and with much less diversity of language and even accent spoken.  A Dutchie pulled up next to me and order ‘cold beer’ in a way that said he was older than he looked (my age or more) and from further out in the provinces than Amsterdam or the Hague: his English was shit, which just doesn’t happen until you get close to Germany.

A pair of American couples that seemed to be fresh off the plane for their first trips over came up and ordered lot’s of stuff separately and generally confused–but never shook–the barlady. I guess what I’m saying is there are a lot of foreigners in this one, but it is the real thing and it is three minutes from the furthest platform in King’s Cross (8 minutes in St Pancras).

Posted 2011/10/04 by Drunken Bunny in pubs, railroads

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Miller’s Bar, King’s Cross, London

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The Fellow, King’s Cross, London « The endless British pub crawl

Leave a Reply

