[Probably] Leaving Cambridge for Oxford (or “she ain’t you but she’s here and she’s got that dark rhythm in her soul”)   5 comments

Or London, or Glasgow…or could be staying put. A world of opportunity in such a small island.

an Oxford and Cambridge Club logo

an Oxford and Cambridge Club logo

You know, it’s funny how things never turn out the way you had ’em planned.
The only thing we knew for sure about Henry Porter is that his name wasn’t Henry Porter.
And, you know there was something about you, baby, that I liked that was always too good for this world
Just like you always said there was something about me you liked that I left behind in the French Quarter.
—–from Brownsville Girl, Bob Dylan

Sometimes songs pop into your head and won’t go away, and Brownsville Girl has re-emerged from my subconcious as it tends to do from time-to-time.  It isn’t alone; it brought Return of the Grievous Angel along with it, but I can think of a worse pair of voices to walk around with in your head than Gram Parsons (my homeboy, as it were…he was from Waycross, GA) and the Bobhead.

I guess this type of mental affliction is usually prompted by some sort of trauma.  The most immediate qualifying event in my wee world was the sudden announcement of the impending move of my research group’s professor from Cambridge to Oxford.  I have kind of settled into the fens these past 6 months, and still have about 6 month’s worth of research and instrument development ahead of me before I can feel good about jumping ship on the larger research amalgam that I’m currently a part of but I have a firm offer of a permanent post–on hard money or University funds as opposed to soft money which refers to grant-based cash–as soon as I can wrap things up here.  And, the new contract should carry me across the time threshhold (4 years in the UK) that allows me to apply for permanent residency.  Cool.

“How far are y’all going?” Ruby asked us with a sigh.
“We’re going ALL the way till the wheels fall off and burn,
“Till the sun peels the paint and the seat covers fade and the water moccasin dies.”
Ruby just smiled and said, “ah, you know some babies never learn.”
—–from Brownsville Girl, Bob Dylan

I’m pretty sure I’ll be the last mass spectrometry person to leave the microdroplets group and, except for whoever takes over the service facility, the last in the department since my boss is taking most of her research group with her to Oxford in October with the rest following at the end of the year.  I guess I have a bit of trail and village running to do out at this end of the country and a large number of pubs to visit before I take down the flag and return the grounds to the natives.

You always said people don’t do what they believe in, they just do what’s most convenient, then they repent.
—–from Brownsville Girl, Bob Dylan

Now if I can just get this bleeding song out of my head.

Update 21 Feb 2012: Just over two years since I started work at Oxford and this post gets hit fairly regularly…inexplicable except that the Bob-head is a powerful voice, or vice.  Thumbing through my chemistry dissertation I found a line from Brownsville Girl referenced there, too.  I have developed no imagination these last 10 years, but thanks for stopping by anyway.

Posted 2009/09/24 by Drunken Bunny in work

Tagged with , ,

5 responses to “[Probably] Leaving Cambridge for Oxford (or “she ain’t you but she’s here and she’s got that dark rhythm in her soul”)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Long time. How are you?

    I like the blog, but was wondering how long it would take you to put in a Dylan reference.

    • So they don’t filter my blog out of the prison computers…interesting.

      How am I? Dylan references? Let’s stick with Brownsville Girl: “I feel pretty good but that ain’t saying much I could feel a whole lot better.”

      I’ve still got that original copy of Bringin’ It All Back Home and it still plays pretty well. He’s got a new one out now, I don’t even know what it’s about, but I’ll listen to him on anything….

  2. Pingback: Oxford HHH 570 observations « The endless British pub crawl

  3. Pingback: Bob Dylan Nobel Prize in Literature Pub Crawl, preview | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

  4. Pingback: London Outer Orbital Path (Section 15) | The Endless British Pub Crawl continues...

Leave a Reply

